England, Wales and Northern Ireland cannot all be drawn in the same Euro 2016 group after Uefa released the initial seedings for next summer’s tournament in France.

Roy Hodgson’s side are in pot one with Wales and Northern Ireland in pot four.  

If the Republic of Ireland win their play-off they will be in pot three or pot four, depending on other results.

A potential group is England, Euro 2012 finalists Italy, the Czech Republic and Wales or Northern Ireland.

The seedings are based on Uefa’s national team coefficient rankings,  which includes past records in tournaments.

More on Euro 2016

Who has already qualified?

Hard work starts now for Wales

England qualify with perfect record

NI achievement ‘may never be beaten’

The other top seeds for the finals are holders Spain, hosts France, world champions Germany, Portugal and Belgium, who are set to become the number one team in Fifa’s rankings.

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Sweden and Hungary are the seeds in the play-off draw, which takes place on Sunday.

The Republic of Ireland, Denmark, Norway and Slovenia are their possible opponents in the two-legged deciders, which will be played between 12 and 17 November.

The draw for the finals takes place on 12 December.