Venezuela U20 0-1 England U20

Media playback is not supported on this device

England won their biggest international title since 1966 by beating Venezuela 1-0 in the Under-20 World Cup final.

It was England’s first appearance in the final of a global tournament since their World Cup victory 51 years ago.

Everton forward Dominic Calvert-Lewin’s first-half goal was enough for victory thanks to Newcastle goalkeeper Freddie Woodman’s second-half penalty save.

Woodman denied Adalberto Penaranda from the spot after the Malaga forward was fouled by Kyle Walker-Peters.

With 17 minutes to play, the referee pointed to the spot to signal a penalty before immediately referring to the video assistant referee.

The decision stood – there was the slightest of contacts – but Newcastle keeper Woodman’s strong palm kept out Penaranda’s effort.

In the first half Ronaldo Lucena hit the post with an audacious long-range free-kick that had Woodman well beaten, while Tottenham midfielder Josh Onomah saw a powerful effort strike the underside of the Venezuela bar after the break.

  • Who are the England Under-20 squad and how much have they played?

England’s youth teams have won the Under-17 European Championship twice – in 2010 and 2014 – and the Under-21 European Championship twice – in 1982 and 1984.

Their previous best at the Under-20 World Cup was third place in 1993.

Six of the squad that triumphed in South Korea on Sunday were part of that Under-17 success in 2014. Woodman, Jonjoe Kenny, Dominic Solanke and captain Lewis Cook all started in Sunday’s final, while Dael Fry and Adam Armstrong were on the bench.

Media playback is not supported on this device

What is the Under-20 World Cup?

It is the biggest global tournament in youth football and has helped launch the career of a number of big names in football.

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi was in the Argentina team that won the 2005 event (then called the Fifa World Youth Championship), while Portuguese great Luis Figo inspired his country to victory in the 1989 and 1991 competitions.

Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero won the Golden Ball awarded for the player of the tournament as Argentina won in 2007, while Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba was named player of the tournament as his France side lifted the trophy in 2013.

England’s team in 2013 – the last time they competed in the event – featured Ross Barkley, John Stones, Harry Kane and Eric Dier. They failed to win a game and finished bottom of their group.

The last Under-20 World Cup in 2015 was won by Serbia, who beat a Brazil side containing Manchester City striker Gabriel Jesus in the final. Six of Serbia’s 21-man squad have since made a full international debut, including Liverpool midfielder Marko Grujic.

England’s route to the final

Group A:

Argentina 0-3 England (Calvert-Lewin, Armstrong, Solanke)

England (Cook) 1-1 Guinea (Tomori OG)

England (Dowell) 1-0 South Korea

England's Group A table<!–

Last 16:

England (Lookman (2)) 2-1 Costa Rica


Mexico 0-1 England (Solanke)


Italy (Orsolini) 1-3 England (Solanke (2), Lookman)


Venezuela 0-1 England (Calvert-Lewin)

More to follow.

Latest Stories, Video, and Commentary about England | BBC